Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay India Ink

Dr. Ph. Martin has a wide variety of products. In January I tried Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bleed Proof white ink and have been experimenting with another Dr. Ph. Martin’s product, this time it’s the Bombay India Ink. Traditionally the term India ink refers to a permanent, black, opaque ink made from soot like Schmincke India ink. I am not exactly sure what the pigment is in my Bombay India ink as it is a very bright red-violet colour so definitely not soot, but it does have shellac as part of its formula so that is how it fits into the India ink category. There are 23 other colours in this line. The label on the bottle says it is lightfast and waterproof. I haven’t tested the lightfast claim but it is waterproof when dry.

It comes in a glass bottle with a dropper-stopper lid. The opening of the bottle isn’t large enough to dip a pen into so I use the dropper to put the ink onto the nib.

I have only used it for calligraphy but I think it could be used for artwork as well. The transparent colour gradates from a brilliant red-violet to pink. I like using it on envelopes because, although it is an unusual colour, it is still very legible and the fact it is waterproof means you don’t have to worry if it gets damp. You do need to clean your nib promptly afterwards though, as once it is dry it is there to stay.

Here are some examples of where I have used this ink: 

Written in uncials with Speedball C-2 nib
Written with Tachikawa G nib on an envelope from my The Village Artisan recycled writing paper
Written with Tachikawa G nib in a Journalbooks notebook
Written with folded pen in vintage Peebles Press journal
Design from the Postman’s Knock, with black sumi ink on Wausau Professional Series Royal fiber paper

If Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay India Ink were a person, they would never have actually travelled to India but love the colourful fabrics of that country.

Leave a comment